2016 Habitat 500

IMG_0634

My backpack stuffed with 7 days of road treats

It’s become a comfortably familiar routine: pack, ride, unpack, eat, nap, eat, and sleep. Not that being a hobo sleeping on a plastic inflatable mattress for 7 days is bad…it’s actually something of an adventure. I get to share my days with people who have a passion for generous living and enjoying the open road at 17 miles per hour.

If you’re new to my blog, Habitat for Humanity assists families in building decent and affordable homes. The Habitat 500 is the signature fundraiser for Minnesota Habitat. 120 or more riders will pedal all or part of 500 miles and raise $350, 000 for new home starts. It’s an undeniably cool way to tell people that Jesus loves them.

Our route this year starts just south of Duluth in Proctor, MN. It travels clockwise, making a circle through the Iron Range and the north shore of Lake Superior.I think this is the prettiest part of MN, but I’m biased: I LIVE HERE.

 

greygoose

The Goose on an interesting training ride in May

Aside from the above mentioned 30 lb sack of road goodies, I’ll be traveling with the Grey Goose. She is in her second season and has close to 10,000 miles on her. She’s been fit to me down to the last millimeter, and the ride experience is like a second skin. We go fast together. We see what’s around the next bend and over the next hill together. If I treat Mother Goose right, she does right by me.

So, while the pros toil away at this year’s Tour de France, I’ll be toiling in my own way on the quiet roads of Minnesota.

I’ll be posting each day’s ride with pictures and a wee bit of commentary. I’ll peck away at my itty-bitty tablet, hope for an internet connection, and include you in the unfolding story. THANK YOU for your support and prayers…I couldn’t do this without you!

“You’re off to Great Places! Today is your day!

Your mountain is waiting,  So get on your way!”  

Dr. Seuss, Oh the Places You’ll Go

 

 

3 thoughts on “2016 Habitat 500

Leave a Reply

