Habitat 500: Prologue 

After performing a wedding at 3, I beat feet home, exchanged clerical garb for shorts, tshirt and sandals, and hit the road for a 4 hr drive to the start of the tour. 

  The Habitat 500 is the signature fundraiser for MN Habitat for Humanity. Last year’s ride raised $500K…which is quite a chunk of change. I’m back this year for my third ride. 

Everyone is getting set up for the night, and my portable bedroom is in the picture above. A week dedicated to eating, riding, sleeping and recovering is unique  in it’s simplicity. The rhythm of the road and its sounds are a song I’ve come to love. Here’s to cleansing exercise and new adventures. 

By the way, I recommend the Subway turkey, bacon and avocado sandwich on whole wheat – with spinach, cukes and red onion. I enjoyed one on the drive. 

ANYWAY. 50 miles tomorrow…time to settle down for the night.

Leave a Reply

