Habitat 500: Day 1

In spite of the basketball net in the background, I swear to you I’m really on a bicycle tour.  The sky was grey and low as I rolled out this morning. It was windy: the grass lying flat in the ditch kind of windy. Maybe because northern MN has been a wind tunnel all season, I wasn’t as irritated as one would expect. Consequently, I did not whine at all.

Not even a little.

However, the humidity was a gazillion percent. It felt like riding into a wet blanket. It’s not a bad sensation…if you like wet, sticky and slimy in equal measures. It is what the road gave us today, and I’m taking it. So I stretched out over the Grey Goose, put my head down and pushed on – and was the first rider done.

Now it’s time for showers, recovery, and food. Godfathers should arrive with lunch any minute. 51 miles, 1451 feet climbed.

Leave a Reply

