I was that Fat Guy on a Bike

bikebuttGlance into the rear view mirror of life, and you’ll see that the scenery has changed. Whether the scenery is familiar or foreign, change is part of the journey. This year the change has been for the better when it comes to girth and gravity. I’m not that fat guy on a bike anymore. Yes, the scenery has changed: I weigh what I did 25 years ago.

It’s all rather startling because the image I had of myself riding my bike didn’t used to match up to the photos – but now it does. Well, mostly. I could still lose another 5 pounds, but I’m pretty ecstatic that my knees don’t bump my stomach when I ride with my hands in the drops.

tdm00There is a down side to all this reduction of mass. To begin with, I have a closet full of clothes that are too big. I know it’s a good problem to have, but replacing work clothes diverts funds away from the bicycle. Having to choose between new spandex bibs and dress pants is both sick and wrong.

You may recall the adage that the gut is the first place where fat goes, and the last place to leave? It’s true. Once every other part of my body is lean there’s a 5 pound paunch more prominent than ever. Can you picture an island in the middle of a lake that’s drying up? As the levels drop, the island becomes magically larger.

I might also add that I think I’ve lost some speed while descending, but gained some speed going up the hills.

Still, there’s a lot to be grateful for. I don’t risk structural failure of wheels and bicycle frame when I roll out of the garage. Fatty and sugar-laden foods have mostly lost their appeal. I DO love an ice cream now and again, but a small cone satisfies me.

Strange as it may seem, I’m not that fat guy on the bike anymore.

 

One thought on “I was that Fat Guy on a Bike

Leave a Reply

