The Pause Button

Coming up on 1000 miles this week. Last year, I hit this milemarker in late July. This year I need to pace myself to avoid over training.

What a difference a year [and an early spring] makes!

My next goal is a 100 mile ride on the south shore of Lake Superior in late June. It will be a preview of my August Vermont ride: with 3500′ of climbing. So, I need to keep adding distance to my weekly long ride, while starting to work more on hills and leg strength for climbing. The trick will be slowing down my mileage increases so that I begin to peak in mid-July and hit top form in August.

Otherwise, good old Trek is buying me some new bottom bracket bearings under waranty. They’ll be installed on Saturday and should take care of the play in my crankset.

May we all be mechanically sound.

Leave a Reply

