30-30’s and Other Bits of Fun

30-30’s are the name I’ve given to a particularly grim training method. After warming up, you sprint out of the saddle for 30 seconds. Sounds easy, huh?

But that’s not the end…not by a long-shot.

Then you spin for 30 seconds in an easy gear, and repeat the sequence 10 times until you either upchuck, or are done. Sprinting out of the saddle is not a particularly efficient way of riding, but it spikes one’s heart rate and toughens up the legs.

Today I had a perfectly miserable ride. The weather forecaster really blew it: 62 and sunny was not to be. 45 degrees and a stiff headwind was more the case…and not a peek of sun. It was so dank and grey that I put my tail light on flash to make sure drivers noticed me. I did feel VERY good about 42 miles under trying conditions, though: managing a 16.2 mph average speed with 900 feet of climbing.

FUNDRAISING

To date we’ve raised $523, and have another cinnamon roll sale at church tomorrow. The goal is $2000. I’ll be soliciting local businesses after Easter, including my good friends Ken and Ben: our local undertakers.

That’s all I have to say about that.

Grace and courage…pastor greg

Leave a Reply

