Habitat 500…getting started

This year my charity ride is the Habitat for Humanity 500. The route starts SW of Minneapolis and does a 500 mile loop through southern MN. I’m looking forward to visiting the German community of New Ulm and a 75 mile stretch along the Mississippi River. There’s also New Prague: home of the Czech Country Expo. [As an added bonus, this ride will get me ready to ride the length of Vermont in August…]

My fundraising goal is $1200 this year, and $320 has been raised so far. My congregation First Lutheran in Grand Rapids is sponsoring, but there’s always room for more!

I’m just beginning my training program, and am just passing 200 miles. Hopefully, the Habitat 500 will be timed right as I get to the strongest point of my season. I should be at about 2000 miles when the ride starts. In the meantime, we’re looking for our first stretch of warming temps. As of today, we might be in the high 40’s on Saturday, and out on the road for the first time in 2012.

Leave a Reply

