71/7

I’m just finishing up a chocolate Nutty Buddy.

I kept my cadence down to a relaxed pace this morning and finished the ride with energy to spare.  I was wondering how many times I pedaled a complete revolution, so I took my time and multiplied it by my average cadence: 24735. Aren’t knees amazing things to put up with all of that?

About halfway through my ride a dump truck intentionally ran me off the road. [Maybe he was toilet trained on a bicycle?] Fortunately there was a driveway I could exit into and come to a stop in a hurry. I felt pretty good about it, though. It’s the same strategy used by Edvald Boasson Hagen in this year’s Tour de France. It was otherwise a gorgeous ride through some virgin forest and undeveloped lakes. A red fox ran across the road as I traveled through a particularly dense stand of evergreens.

Okay, the fundraising total is [drumroll please…] $1554.20! WE’VE MADE OUR GOAL! This puts us in 3rd place for regional fundraising. Thanks to all of you for your generosity and support. There may be a few more pledges, so we’ll see how much further this goes.

After today’s 71 mile ride, training mileage stands at 982.6. Tomorrow I’ll do a 17+ mile recovery ride so I can hit 1000 miles.

Grace & courage, friends…pastor greg

Leave a Reply

